Know your AIQA- Vaibhav/Vai

-By Vaibhav/Vai

Hi I’m an 18 year old bisexual guy from Faizabad, a city neighbouring Ayodhya and Lucknow. I’m a student and I compose music for fun.Being from a small suburban town with little exposure to the LGBTQ+ community, I grew up without much knowledge of these things. I never bothered myself to find out too much about it. The media at the time only presented us as “unnatural” or “against the rules of religion”. The movies at the time portrayed the gay characters as just comedic relief and not having a personality at all. The first time I had feelings for someone of the opposite gender was back when I was 13/14. I enjoyed hanging out with him at school, talking with him over the phone and going to his house to spend my weekdays. It was because of him I picked up my first instrument, just so my dumbass could impress him. I never thought those feelings were romantic until 3 years later when I moved out from my home town alone to pursue higher education somewhere else. That is when I figured out I am bi. Sadly, I can never come out to him or my family because their mentality isn’t the most open type, but it’s thanks to him that I discovered who I truly am.
I joined AIQA in hopes of meeting people that I can trust and feel safe with, share bonds with and work together with to make our beautiful country more aware that we aren’t an ‘anomaly’ in nature, and that we too deserve the same rights and social status as them. We have feelings and aren’t just hungry predators who look at the same sex and want to elope with them immediately. We are normal. And I’m going to try my best to be a part of this amazing association and work towards a better future for our community.Thank you so much